Sunday, August 18, 2013

Brazil win 2013 Homeless World Cup

Brazil won their second Homeless World Cup trophy after a penalty shootout win over Mexico in Poznan.

Financial pressure meant the 2010 champions arrived in Poland with just four players but they held their nerve to consign Mexico to their third consecutive final defeat.

Travelling with a squad cut back to the minimum number of players allowed failed to dent Brazil's recent consistency in their tournament with two wins and three third place finishes in the last five Homeless World Cups.

The Women's Homeless World Cup again offered consolation for Mexico as they ran out 4-1 winners over Chile to retain the title they won at home in 2012.

Scotland, who lost their Polish President's Cup semi final to Austria yesterday, lost 8-4 to Ireland today to finish the event in 12th place overall.

On a mixed day for the home nations Northern Ireland beat Greece 12-1 in their Ministry of Labour Cup play off match while Wales lost 7-3 to Cambodia in The Cup of Tolerance.

England's men lost 6-4 to the United State in The INSP Trophy but the English women's team beat Wales on penalties after a 4-4 draw to lift The Equality Cup.

So the 2013 Homeless World Cup ends with Brazil crowned champions. But the beauty of this tournament are the hundreds of other winners it produces as players from across the world travel home with a new determination to change their lives.

As Homeless World Cup president and co-founder Mel Young said in Poznan today:

"There are one hundred million homeless people in the world today and one homeless person is one too many.

"Football has the power to transform lives and the best result this week was not on the pitch, but how the players took the next step to move forward in their lives and inspire other homeless people to do the same."

Homeless World Cup on the Scottish Football Blog
Brazil lift the Homeless World Cup trophy
Homeless World Cup 2013 finals:
  • The Homeless World Cup: Brazil beat Mexico on penalties
  • The Polish President's Cup: Netherlands beat Austria 6-5
  • The Poznan City Cup: Bulgaria beat Costa Rica 8-4
  • The Ministry of Labour Cup: Belgium beat Slovenia 8-4 
  • The Cup of Tolerance: Germany beat Norway 3-1
  • The INSP Trophy: Finland beat Sweden on penalties
  • The Women's Homeless World Cup: Mexico beat Chile 4-1
  • The Equality Cup: England beat Wales on penalties
Why are so many games played on Homeless World Cup finals day?

Mel Young explains:

"During the week, the teams have been playing in a series of qualifying sections and knock out stages. In the men’s competition, teams compete for the Homeless World Cup but there are also five other plate competitions to be won. Unlike other cups, teams do not go home if they lose but they stay in the competition to play for a place. Each team will play at least once to decide their final position.

"The Women’s Homeless World Cup works in exactly the same way except there are fewer plate competitions because there are fewer women’s teams taking part.

"Each team will receive a trophy for their position and every player will receive the same medal. Because the teams are all now at the same level each game will be very close.

"I always love Finals Day at the Homeless World Cup because there is high drama in every game. Then the medal ceremonies are a fabulous show of friendship and solidarity as the players each receive their awards with a big smile on their face in front of a cheering crowd."

Visit the Homeless World Cup website for all this year's news and results

No comments:

Post a Comment